Shrines and pilgrimage
This pilgrimage place is situated on the top of a hill near the town of Bystřice pod Hostýnem (near to Zlín- Moravian region). The legend says, that people prayed to the Virgin Mary, when Tatar raiders came to the town. Suddenly a thunderbolt damaged the settlement of the raiders by a fire. The hill is dominated by an ellipsoid Baroque church. The church was damaged several times, the interior equipment was stolen, the roof was also removed, but despite of this, the place has been still visited by the pilgrims. Therefore it was reconstructed in 1841 at the 600th anniversary of the miracle.
Mary Hilf – Zlaté Hory
This shrine, which is dedicated to the Virgin Mary Hilf, is located in Golden Mountains (Zlaté Hory in Czech) near to city Jeseník. The first mentions dates back to the beginning of 18th century, when a wooden chapel with a picture of Virgin Mary and his child was settled here. Thanks to a big interest of pilgrims in this shrine, a new church replaced the former chapel in 1841. Way of the cross, water chapel and pilgrim house were added later to make this place more peasant for the big number of pilgrims, who visit this place every year (80 – 100 thousands).
This pilgrimage is dominating the town of Krnov, which lies on the border with Poland in the Silesian Region. The church is situated on the top of a hill south-east of the town centre. This church dedicated to the Virgin Mary Seven Sorrows was commissioned by Cornelius the Dean of Krnov in 17th century. The tradition says, he saw a shining star above this place, were a Marin statue stood formerly. Therefore he decided to build there a wooden church in 1684. The current temple building was settled here later in 1727. Pilgrimage takes place here now every month.
It is a pilgrimage place near to the town of Kyjov, which is situated in the south of the Moravian Region. This well known shrine was formerly under the administration of the Old Brno Cistercian female monastery. The Czech Queen Eliška Rejčka bought the church in Žarošice for the monastery and endowed it with a very old and precious wooden statue of the Holy Mother of the God from Žarošice, which comes from only one piece of wood made by an unknown artist in 1325.
You can find this Holy place just 3 kilometres far from the town of Dačice in the south of the Bohemian region. The whole complex consists of the church, gardens and other buildings of the Carmelitan cloister. The inception of this place dates back to the breakthrough of the 17th and 18th century, when Gerhard Jindřich Butz from Rolsberg settled here a chapel endowed with a picture of the Virgin Mary. By one of the entrances to the premises of the monastery we can find a tree, which is already 400 years old.
The Marin pilgrimage Štípa is situated 5 kilometres to the north from the city of Zlín in the Moravian region in the village of the same name. Pilgrimages to the Grace shining statue of the Virgin Mary from Štíp took place here probably already in the beginning of the 14th century. The origin of this statue is unknown, but allegedly it was found in the middle of a forest at a shining place. Therefore a small chapel was built at the place of the current church for this found statue. In the later times the chapel was enlarged to a church in the Gothic style and also new buildings for a monastery were added. The church was consecrated by the Olomouc bishop Jan Karel the Earl from Scherffenberg.
Sloup – Moravian Karst
This shrine is placed in the well known region called Moravian Karst, which is famous for its caves. The village Sloup (Column in English) is 40 kilometres to the north from Brno, capital city of Moravia. The village was gifted by a statue of the Virgin Mary of Sorrows in the beginning of the 18th century. Formerly the statue was kept in a mill in the village and since the miller’s daughter was miraculously healed, pilgrims started arriving to that place. Therefore a wooden chapel was commissioned and the statue was moved there. The church was consecrated by the Olomouc bishop cardinal Ferdinand Julius the Baron of Troyer.
This pilgrimage place is situated near to Chomutov in the west of Bohemian region. We are informed about this place from a legend, which talks about a small shepherd. One day, when he walked with his cattle, he said something rude and a voice coming from a bush warned him. When he looked into the bush, he saw a wooden statue of the Virgin Mary. He took it home but the other day the statue disappeared and was found at the former place. Therefore the pilgrimage church was settled right here. This traces back to the end of the 16th century.
Pilgrimage Provodov is situated 10 kilometres south from Zlín in the village of the same name. The church of the Virgin Mary of Snow stands on the top of a hill at the place with a healing spring, which appeared once in a dream to a miller. She had an eye disease and since she visited the spring at the place she had dreamed of, her problems disappeared immediately. Therefore a small wooden chapel was built here in 1720. Thirty years later a Baroque church replaced the former chapel. Near the church there is also the way of the cross dating back to the beginning of the 20th century.
Dub nad Moravou
This pilgrimage church is close to the city of Olomouc. The church comes probably from the 13th century. In 1470 the former church was replaced by the new temple and during the 18th century a picture of the Virgin Mary with his child was placed here. Because of the huge number of pilgrims coming to this place the temple was reconstructed and enlarged.
This is the most famous shrine in the Czech Republic. The history of the place traces back to the time of the Great Moravia (9th century), because it was the capital of this empire. This pilgrimage place is also connected with the arrival of Cyril and Methodius. The Basilica of the Assumption was settled here in the first half of the 13th century. Because of the wars, the church was destroyed several times. During the first week in July, when it is the public holiday of St. Cyril and Methodius on 5th July, thousands of visitors, not only pilgrims, arrive here to celebrate this religious event together.
It is a premonstratensian cloister, which was settled in 1193 by the Czech nobleman Hroznata. The village Teplá is situated in the west Bohemia region. Since the foundation it was under the administration of the monks, who came there from Strahov cloister in Prague. The church was consecrated by the Prague’s bishop in 1232. The Czech King Wenceslas I. participated in the first service In the premises of the cloister, you can find a museum exposition. The collection comprises pictures, sculptures, statues, porcelain and liturgical textiles, that were endowed to the cloister by the Czech monarchs during the times.
Basilica of St. Vavřinec and Zdislava
This shrine can be found in the small town called Jablonné v Podještědí, which lies in the north of the Bohemia region. The current building of the temple started in the end of the 17th century. The church is richly decorated by paintings and a small Gothic statue of Madonna is placed in the side chapel. The relics of St. Zdislava are interred in the crypt below the church, where you can also find 24 copper paintings depicting her life.
This place, which is called the Holy Hill in English, is a famous Moravian pilgrimage place. The shrine is near to Olomouc, the bishopric city. The chapel was consecrated in 1633. But thanks to the rising amount of the pilgrims, the Premostraterians commissioned the construction of a new church. Whole complex is consisting of the church and buildings housing the cloister. This place is easily accessible by the public transport of the Olomouc city and there is Zoo in the walk distance.
It is the most famous Marian pilgrimage in Bohemia. It is situated on the top of a hill, which is above the former mining town Příbram. The Baroque complex has a rectangular platform with the church in the middle. The history of this place traces back to the 13th century. The legend says, that a small chapel was settled in this place as the revenge for the help of Virgin Mary. Thanks to the number of pilgrims visiting the shrine, it was enlarged in the 17th century.
This cloister was commissioned by the bishop Tobiáš Jan Becker in 1696. The construction was finished in 1700 and the picture of the Virgin Mary of Snows was brought there at the same time. There is also the way of the cross leading to this cloister with other small chapels. The shrine was reconstructed in 1990 and the house for pilgrims was opened here in 1993.
This pilgrimage place was settled near a healing spring in the village of Dobrá Voda in the south of the Bohemia region. The church was dedicated to the Virgin Mary of Sorrows in 1630. The building of the church is constructed by the project of Kilián Ignác Dientzenhofer, the famous Czech architect.
Sedlec is a part of Carlsbad, dominated by a hill surrounded by small ponds and swamps. The Church of St. Anna in Sedlec was built in 1745. Inside the church you can find there a precious statue of St. Anna holding the Holy Child of Jesus Christ in her left hand. The statue is 1,8 meter high and it is the reason why so many pilgrims visit this place.
It is one of the oldest pilgrimage places in the Czech Republic. It is situated near Brno in the Moravian region. This place became popular to pilgrims during the 17th and 18th century. The legend says, that the Virgin Mary appeared here in the tree crown. In 2004 a chime was installed in the patio.